Back to All Programs

Last Updated July 7, 2021

Program Overview


Regulatory Policy



Incentive Type:

Appliance/Equipment Efficiency Standards



Start Date:


Expiration Date:


Web Site:

Applicable Sectors:


Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:



NOTE: The federal government has imposed and updated appliance efficiency standards through several legislative acts,* and now has standards in place or under development for 30 classes of products. In general, states which had set standards prior to federal action may enforce their own standards until the federal standards take effect. States that had not set standards prior to federal action must use the federal standards. This summary addresses (1) state appliance standards that will be in place until the federal standards take effect and (2) products for which the federal government is not currently developing an efficiency standard. Much of the information in this summary comes from the Appliance Standards Awareness Project (ASAP). Visit the ASAP web site for comprehensive information about appliance standards.

Connecticut enacted efficiency standards through legislative actions in 2004 and 2007 and 2011. This law covers the following products that have not been pre-empted by federal standards:
(Dates listed in parenthesis signify the year the standard took effect.)

  • Bottle-type water dispensers (2009)*
  • Commercial hot food holding cabinets (2009)*
  • Hot tubs (2009)*
  • Swimming pool pumps (2010)
  • Compact Audio Equipment (2014)**
  • DVD Players and Recorders (2014)**
  • Televisions (2014)**

The standards apply to products manufactured in Connecticut and sold inside the state. Manufacturers must certify to the Secretary of the Office of Policy Management that products comply with the regulations.

The standards must be reviewed biennially and increased if it is determined that increased efficiency standards would serve to promote energy conservation and would be cost-effective for consumers. Standards for additional products may be adopted if it is determined that they would serve to promote energy conservation in the state, would be cost-effective for consumers, and that multiple products are available which meet such standards.

* These acts include the National Appliance Energy Conservation Act of 1987, the Energy Policy Act of 1992, the Energy Policy Act of 2005, and the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.

**Adopted per legislation enacted July 2011 (SB 1243).