Back to All Programs

Last Updated April 28, 2023

Program Overview


Regulatory Policy



Incentive Type:

Building Energy Code



Start Date:


Expiration Date:


Web Site:

Applicable Sectors:


Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:



Much of the information presented in this summary is drawn from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Energy Codes Program and the Building Codes Assistance Project (BCAP). For more detailed information about building energy codes, visit the DOE and BCAP websites.

Effective July 1, 2020, Nebraska recently adopted the 2018 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) and ASHRAE 90.1-2016 for residential and commercial buildings. 

The State Building Administrator of the Department of Administrative Services, in consultation with the State Energy Office, may specify a more recent edition of the IECC, additional energy efficiency or renewable energy requirements for buildings, and waivers of specific requirements which are demonstrated through life-cycle cost analysis to not be in the state's best interest.

Any county, city, or village may adopt a code that differ from the Nebraska Energy Code if the adopted code is “deemed equivalent” to the Nebraska Energy Code. Any county, city, or village also may waive a specific requirement from the Code if the standard is “not economically justified” according to an analysis it submits to the State Energy Office. If no code is adopted by a town or county, the Nebraska Energy Office enforces the Code in the jurisdiction.


In September 2011 the Nebraska Building Energy Code was updated to the 2009 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) standards. As with the previous 2003 IECC standards, which had been in place since 2005, the Code applies to all new buildings, renovations, or additions to existing buildings. However, only those renovations that will cost more than 50% of the replacement cost of the building must comply with the Code. The Nebraska Energy Code also includes new and renovated state buildings within the 2009 IECC standard.