Back to All Programs

Last Updated October 22, 2014

Program Overview


Regulatory Policy


District of Columbia

Incentive Type:

Appliance/Equipment Efficiency Standards



Start Date:


Expiration Date:


Web Site:


Applicable Sectors:


Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:



NOTE: The federal government has imposed and updated appliance efficiency standards through several legislative acts,* and now has standards in place or under development for 30 classes of products. In general, states which had set standards prior to federal action may enforce their own standards until the federal standards take effect. States that had not set standards prior to federal action must use the federal standards. This summary addresses (1) state appliance standards that will be in place until the federal standards take effect and (2) products for which the federal government is not currently developing an efficiency standard. Much of the information in this summary comes from the Appliance Standards Awareness Project (ASAP). Visit the ASAP web site for comprehensive information about appliance standards.

In 2007 the District of Columbia (D.C.) enacted legislation, entitled the Energy Efficiency Standards Act of 2007, which created efficiency standards for six products, four of which were immediately preempted by federal law. The efficiency standards thereby apply to bottle-type water dispensers and commercial hot food holding cabinets sold in D.C. on or after January 1, 2009 and installed on or after January 1, 2010. 

The standards do not apply to new products manufactured in District of Columbia that are sold either outside of D.C. or sold wholesale within D.C. for final retail sale/installation outside of D.C. The standards do not apply to products installed in mobile homes at the time of construction or to products designed for installation and use within recreational vehicles.

While these standards apply currently to limited products, § 8-1771.04 establishes that the Mayor may adopt rules to either 1) increase efficiency standards for the listed products or 2) establish efficiency standards for products not listed if he/she feels it necessary to further promote energy conservation in D.C.

The law further stipulates requirements for testing and certification.

* These acts include the National Appliance Energy Conservation Act of 1987, the Energy Policy Act of 1992, the Energy Policy Act of 2005, and the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.